Members only:
 
 

Material assistance

Material assistance is intended for those who request it because they are temporarily in need. The result of an enquiry, made by the board and the secretariat, is handed to the Chairman of the Board of Directors; the latter decides whether the assistance is granted or not.

It can be an assistance allowance, an interest-free advance, an allowance in case of decease… or scholarships granted to deserving children of members.

The admissibility for scholarships is based on the following criteria: they are reserved to children of members and exclusively intended for academic studies, except for specializations, providing the student succeeds in the first year.

If a student follows two consecutive disciplines, the number of scholarships will be limited to the number of years of the longest cycle, exclusive of the first year.

As to the definition of the amounts, the board of directors will take into account the income of the parents, the composition of the family and the quality of the study results of the previous year.

Patronage

Since 1994 the Association takes under its protection all orphans (under 18) of whom one parent was the victim during his/her duty and was posthumously decorated with the Order of Leopold. This patronage consists of the deposit of a sum of money on a savings account which is frozen up to each child’s majority. Among the principal beneficiaries we mention:

  • the six orphans left by our commandos killed in Kigali,
  • the son of Commander B. Borrey, fallen at Mostar,
  • the two orphans of first sergeant-major Vomberg of the Air Force, deceased when he tried to save the passengers of the C130 plane which crashed in Eindhoven in 1996,
  • the daughter of chief warrant officer Primo Pauletig of the Gendarmerie (now Federal Police), killed during an intervention at the “Fêtes de Wallonie” in 2000,
  • the children of flying captain Desirotte, deceased in commanded service during a night interception.

Moral assistance

In practice however, the main assistance activity has a moral character, more specifically it consists of organising periodical meetings consisting of lectures and organized trips or travels and of visits to isolated members or members admitted to hospital and of the presence of members at deceased members’ funerals.

Top

Réservé aux membres :
 
 

Entraide matérielle

L'entraide, tout d'abord matérielle, s'adresse à ceux qui, momentanément dans le besoin, la sollicitent. Une enquête, diligentée par la direction et le bureau est transmis par le Président au conseil d'administration, seul habilité à accorder ou non le secours.

Il pourra s'agir d'une allocation d'entraide, d'un prêt d'honneur sans intérêt, d'une allocation de décès… ou de bourses d'études accordées aux enfants méritants de membres.

La recevabilité des demandes de bourses d'étude se basera sur les critères suivants : réservée aux enfants de membres et uniquement pour des études supérieures à l'exception des spécialisations, réussite de la première année. De même, dans le cas où un étudiant entreprendrait deux cycles successifs d'études, le nombre total de bourses sera limité au nombre d'années, la première exclue, du cycle le plus long.

Pour la détermination des montants, le conseil d'administration tiendra compte des revenus des parents, de la composition de la famille et de la qualité des résultats obtenus l'année antérieure.


Parrainage

De même, depuis 1994, la Société parraine les orphelins (de moins de 18 ans) dont l'un des parents a été victime du devoir et décoré à titre posthume dans l'Ordre de Léopold. Ce parrainage prend la forme d'un dépôt d'une somme d'argent sur un compte d'épargne bloqué jusqu'à la majorité de chaque jeune. Parmi les principaux bénéficiaires, nous pouvons citer :

  • les six orphelins laissés derrière eux par nos commandos assassinés à Kigali ;
  • le fils du commandant B. Borrey tombé à Mostar ;
  • les deux orphelins laissés par le premier sergent-major Vomberg, de la Force Aérienne, décédé en essayant de sauver les passagers du C130 qui s'est écrasé à Eindhoven en 1996 ;
  • la fille de l'adjudant-chef Primo Pauletig, de la Gendarmerie (maintenant Police Fédérale), assassiné lors d'une intervention pendant les fêtes de Wallonie 2000 ;
  • les enfants du capitaine aviateur Desirotte tombé en service commandé lors d'une interception de nuit.

Entraide morale

Dans la pratique, l'activité principale d'entraide est d'ordre moral, par l'organisation de réunions périodiques sous formes de conférences, de sorties organisées ou de voyages, par des visites aux membres isolés ou hospitalisés et par la présence de membres aux obsèques de sociétaires.

Retour