Members only:
 
 

Administration

The Royal decree of 8 November 1832 left the management of the Order of Leopold in the care of the Public Department Foreign Affairs. Nowadays the Administration of the Orders of the Public Federal Service Foreign Affairs carries out this assignment.

This service can be contacted at the following address : rue des Petits-Carmes, 15 at 1000 Brussels.

The law of 28 December 1838 modified the number of grades of the Order of Leopold changing it from four into five by the addition of the grade of Grand Officer.

The five grades are :

The Royal decree of 16 May 1839 modified the shape of the decoration of the Order of Leopold. The insignia are described hereafter.

The Royal decree of 16 February 1934 created a maritime category in the Order of Leopold It also consists of five grades. The distinctive mark of the maritime category of the Order consist of two crossed anchors put next to the crosses, under the crown next to the plates, crossed under the central medallion.

Grand Ribbon holder

The gold cross of the Order, with a width of 68 mm, set on a wine-coloured ribbon with a width of 110 mm, put over the right shoulder, slanting down to the left and ending in a big rosette knot in moiré with double milled piece, to which the fixing hook to receive the cross is attached.

The solid silver plate consists of a large (85 mm wide) and a small (75 mm wide) star that are crossed and form an entity with eight branches with cut facets. The central part consist of a medallion, about 40 mm large, with the Belgian lion and device. There is a fixing hook at the back.

At ceremonies the Grand Ribbon holders also wear the Necklace of the Order; this is made out of gold and consists of three alternating parts : the crown, the lion and the figure.

Grand cordonGrand cordon

Grand officer

The convex silver plate, with a diameter of about 80 mm, consists of a large cross with four cut-out arms with silver facets. Between the arms there are five smooth silver beams. The central part consist of a medallion with a size of about 40 mm, with the Belgian lion and device. There is a fixing hook at the back.

The plate conferred to service-men has two crossed swords under the central medallion.

Grand Officier

Commander

The gold cross of the Order, with a width of 55 mm, attached to a wine-coloured ribbon with a width of 37 mm, is hung over the neck.

Commandeur

Officer

The gold cross of the Order, with a width of about 40 mm, is suspended to a wine-coloured ribbon with a width of 37 mm, on which a rosette has been fixed. This is worn in the buttonhole for civilians and on the chest of service uniforms.

Officier

Knight

The silver cross, with a diameter of about 40 mm, is suspended to a wine-coloured ribbon with a width of 37 mm. It is worn in the buttonhole for civilians and on the chest of service uniforms.

 

Top

Réservé aux membres :
 
 

Administration

L'Arrêté Royal du 8 novembre 1832 confie l'administration de l'Ordre de Léopold au département des Affaires Etrangères. Actuellement, c'est le service des Ordres du Service Public Fédéral Affaires Etrangères qui assume cette mission.

Ce service peut être contacté à l'adresse suivante : rue des Petits-Carmes, 15 à 1000 Bruxelles

La loi du 28 décembre 1838 modifie le nombre de classes de l'Ordre de Léopold qui passe à cinq classes par l'adjonction de celle de grand-officier. Ces cinq classes sont :

L'Arrêté Royal du 16 mai 1839 modifie la forme de la décoration de l'Ordre de Léopold. Les insignes sont décrits ci-après.

L'Arrêté Royal du 16 février 1934 crée une catégorie maritime dans l'Ordre de Léopold. Elle comprend également cinq classes. La marque distinctive de l'Ordre au titre maritime est constituée par deux ancres croisées qui se placent en support de la couronne pour les croix et croisées sous le médaillon du centre pour les plaques.

Grand cordon

La croix en or de l'Ordre, à la largeur de 68 mm suspendue à un ruban rouge lie de vin à la largeur de 110 mm, posé sur l'épaule droite, descendant vers le côté gauche et se terminant par un grand nœud rosette en moire avec double pan coupé en dents de scie, auquel est fixé le crochet d'attache pour recevoir la croix.

La plaque en argent massif est constituée d'une grande (largeur de 85 mm) et d'une petite étoile (largeur 75 mm) croisées qui forment un ensemble à huit rais à facettes. Le centre est constitué du médaillon au format de plus ou moins 40 mm composé du lion belge et de la devise. Le revers possède une agrafe.

Les grands cordons portent en outre, lors des cérémonies, le Collier de l'Ordre, lequel est en or, partagé en trois parties qui alternent : la couronne, le lion et le chiffre.

Grand cordonGrand cordon

Grand officier

La plaque en argent bombé, au diamètre de plus ou moins 80 mm, est formée d'une grande croix à quatre branches échancrées constituées de facettes d'argent. Entre les branches, les cinq rayons en argents sont lisses. Le centre est constitué du médaillon au format de plus ou moins 40 mm composé du lion belge et de la devise. Le revers possède une agrafe.

La plaque attribuée aux militaires comportera deux glaives croisés sous le médaillon du centre.

Grand Officier

Commandeur

La croix en or de l'Ordre, à la largeur de 55 mm, suspendue à un ruban rouge lie de vin à la largeur de 37 mm sera portée en sautoir autour du cou.

Commandeur

Officier

La croix en or de l'Ordre, au diamètre de plus ou moins 40 mm, est suspendue à un ruban rouge lie de vin à la largeur de 37 mm qui est surchargé d'une rosette. Elle se porte sur la poitrine pour ceux qui sont revêtus d'un uniforme.

Officier

Chevalier

La croix en argent de l'Ordre, au diamètre de plus ou moins 40 mm, est suspendue à un ruban rouge lie de vin à la largeur de 37 mm. Elle se porte sur la poitrine pour ceux qui sont revêtus d'un uniforme.

 

Retour