Members only:
 
 

To wear one's decorations is to be proud to be a Belgian

The Belgian national culture has been set up by means of common values, traditions and symbols. The honorary decorations which are part of the official rewards system belong to that culture. They embody honour, bravery, merit and courage.

The National Holiday, November 11 and the King's Feast are some of those occasions at which the King and the Royal Family, the judges and the magistrates and the veterans are almost the only people wearing their decorations.

The design of the decorations has hardly changed since the 19th century and therefore they are rather uncomfortable to wear on modern clothing. If pinning the recognition of one's merits on a man's jacket is already rather difficult, you can imagine the difficulty to pin them on women's clothing.

Wearing one's decorations decently can really be an obstacle race as any documentation on this subject is lacking. Consequently it is most useful to recall some elementary rules in order to wear one's decorations in the right way.

Some elementary rules

  • In the presence of the King or a member of the Royal Family, unless other instructions have been prescribed, only the great modules of the honorary decorations are worn and never the miniature jewels nor the reduced versions with the colours of the ribbons.
  • The decorations are pinned to the left of the chest, ranged from the centre in decreasing order of importance.
  • Priority is given to the Belgian orders, spread in classes (grand-cross, grand officer, commander, officer, knight, palms and medals). There are three in decreasing order of importance: Leopold, Crown and Leopold II. Only one class per order is worn! (Tab. I)
  Officer Knight Golden Palms Silver Palms Gold Medal Silver Medal Bronze Medal
Order of Leopold (*) Not applicable
Crown de Order
Order of Leopold II Not applicable

Tab. I : 4th, 5th and 6th classes of the Belgian national orders.

(*) Only the military category, with crossed swords, is represented here. The civilian category, without crossed swords, follows the same rules.

  • Then we have the other official Belgian decorations. A decoration is official when it has been created by a law or by a royal decree (Order in Council).
  • A regulation stipulates the order in which the military have to wear their decorations (Tab. II). If they are no longer cited, the Second World War decorations and the Korean War decorations naturally have priority.
1. Military decorations for exceptional services or for bravery or act of devotion (1st and 2nd classes)
2. Military Cross (1st and 2nd classes).     
3. Military decoration for seniority (1st and 2nd classes).     
4. Cross of Honour for military service abroad (1st and 2nd and 3rd classes).     
5. Commemorative medal for armed humanitarian operation + bar on the ribbon.
6. Commemorative medal for an operation or a mission abroad. The retired military are allowed to wear on the ribbon maximum three bars with the name of the missions they participated in, provided that those bars have been attributed before September 17, 2004. In all other cases, the number of missions (> 1) the person participated in is indicated on the ribbon by a bronze Arabic numeral 9 mm high.
7. Medal of merit. No bar has been officially prescribed to be worn on the ribbon.
8. Commemorative medal of the Army marches (MESA and the four day march of the Yser). Though these are not decorations, wearing these medals is authorized until December 31 of the year following that of the participation or in a permanent way from 3 participations onward.     

Tab. II : Belgian military decorations.

  • - A similar list also exists for the civilian decorations (Tab. III).
A Carnegie Hero Fund Medals
- Gold, silver and bronze
B Civilian decorations for acts of bravery or devotion.
- 1st and 2nd class Cross     
- 1st, 2nd and 3rd class Medal         
C Civilian decorations for administration services seniority
- 1st and 2nd class Cross     
- 1st, 2nd and 3rd class Medals         
- 1st and 2nd class Cross for fireman's services     
- 1st and 2nd class Medal for fireman's services         
D Decorations for labour
- 1st and 2nd class     
E Special decorations
- Health insurance fund, 1st and 2nd class     
- Cooperation, 1st and 2nd class     
- Social provision, 1st and 2nd class     
- Professional union, 1st and 2nd class     
- Agricultural, 1st and 2nd class     
F Honour insignia of Labour Laureate
1st, 2nd and 3rd class  

Tab. III : main Belgian civilian decorations.

Special cases

  • The veterans who are holder of both military and civilian decorations will give priority to their military decorations putting forward respectively those for acts of bravery or devotion, those for the Second World War and the Korean War, those for seniority and finally the other decorations.
  • The official foreign orders are worn in chronological order of attribution next to the Belgian national orders. The other official foreign decorations are worn in chronological order of attribution next to the official Belgian decorations.

Allowances and prohibitions

  • Wearing a foreign order must be allowed by the King. The foreign orders are worn next to the Belgian and according to the date of attribution. No military in service is allowed to wear a foreign decoration without a royal authorization.
  • The Belgian decorations which have not been created by law of royal decree are not officially recognized, even if they have been established by another official authority (region, province, town, municipality…), by an acknowledged institution (Red Cross, fire brigade service…) or by a patriotic, philanthropic or other association. Wearing them next to all other decorations is however allowed, except for the military in active service, providing there can be no confusion with the official decorations. The holders of official decorations will only wear them at events directly related to the institution that decorated them.
  • The decorations of international organizations to which Belgium adheres (NATO, European Union, OSCE,) are assimilated to Belgian decorations but are worn next to them.

The illustrations below are mainly drawn from the regulation for military dress (DGHR-REG-DISPSYS-001) of February 20, 2006 and from the documentation of the press service (SPF) of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs. We also want to thank the TOULET – VAN BAEL society for authorizing us to use certain pictures published on their Internet website and Lieutenant Colonel GS Eric TRIPNAUX for his technical advice.

Top

Réservé aux membres :
 
 

Bien porter ses décorations, c'est être fier d'être belge

La culture nationale belge s'est formée, notamment, autour de valeurs, de traditions et de symboles communs. Les distinctions honorifiques, qui font partie du système officiel de récompenses, appartiennent à cette culture. Elles incarnent, entre autres, l'honneur, la bravoure, le mérite ou le courage.

Fête nationale, 11 novembre et fête du Roi sont quelques-unes des occasions au cours desquelles le Roi et la famille royale, les juges et les magistrats, les militaires, les anciens combattants et les vétérans sont encore quasi les seuls à arborer leurs décorations.

Leur design n'a plus guère évolué depuis le XIXe siècle, ce qui les rend inconfortables à porter sur des vêtements modernes. Si épingler la reconnaissance de ses mérites sur un veston d'homme est déjà malaisé, imaginez la difficulté sur un vêtement féminin.

Bien porter ses décorations peut s'assimiler à un parcours du combattant car la documentation les concernant fait largement défaut. Il n'est donc pas inutile de rappeler quelques règles élémentaires afin de bien porter ses décorations.

Quelques règles élémentaires

  • En présence du Roi ou d'un membre de la famille royale, à moins que d'autres directives aient été prescrites, seuls les grands modules des distinctions honorifiques sont portés et jamais les bijoux en miniature ou les diminutifs aux couleurs des rubans.
  • Les distinctions s'accrochent sur le côté gauche de la poitrine, rangées à partir du centre en ordre décroissant d'importance.
  • La priorité est donnée aux ordres belges, répartis en classes (grand-croix, grand officier, commandeur, officier, chevalier, palmes et médailles). Ils sont trois, par ordre décroissant d'importance : Léopold, Couronne et Léopold II. On ne porte qu'une seule classe par ordre !(Tab. I)
  Officier Chevalier Palmes d'or Palmes d'argent Médaille d'or Médaille d'argent Médaille de bronze
Ordre de Léopold
(*)
Pas d'application
Ordre de la Couronne
Ordre de Léopold II Pas d'application

Tab. I : 4e, 5e et 6e classes des ordres nationaux belges.

(*) Seule la catégorie militaire, avec glaives croisés, est ici représentée. La catégorie civile, sans glaives croisés, suit les mêmes règles.

  • Viennent ensuite les autres décorations officielles belges. Une décoration est officielle lorsqu'elle a été créée par une loi ou par un arrêté royal.
  • Un règlement prévoit l'ordre dans lequel les militaires doivent porter leurs décorations(Tab. II). Si elles ne sont plus citées, les décorations de la Seconde Guerre mondiale et de la guerre de Corée restent évidemment prioritaires.
1. Décoration militaire pour service exceptionnel ou pour acte de courage ou de dévouement (1re et 2e classes)
2. Croix militaire (1re et 2e classes).     
3. Décoration militaire pour ancienneté (1re et 2e classes).     
4. Croix d'honneur pour service militaire à l'étranger (1re, 2e et 3e classes).     
5. Médaille commémorative pour opération humanitaire armée + barrette(s) sur le ruban.
6. Médaille commémorative pour opération ou mission à l'étranger. Les militaires à la retraite sont autorisés à porter sur le ruban un maximum de 3 barrettes avec le nom des missions auxquelles ils ont participé à condition que ces barrettes aient été attribuées avant le 17 septembre 2004. Dans tous les autres cas, le nombre de missions (> 1) auxquelles la personne a participé est indiqué sur le ruban par un chiffre arabe en bronze de 9 mm de haut.
7. Médaille du mérite. Aucune barrette n'est officiellement prévue pour être portée sur le ruban.
8. Médaille commémorative des marches de la Force terrestre (MESA et quatre jours de l'Yser). Bien qu'il ne s'agisse pas de décorations, le port de ces médailles est autorisé jusqu'au 31 décembre de l'année qui suit l'année de participation ou de manière permanente à partir de 3 participations.     

Tab. II : décorations militaires belges.

  • Une telle liste existe aussi pour les décorations civiles (Tab. III).
A Médailles du Carnegie Hero Fund
Or, argent et bronze
B Décorations civiques pour acte de courage ou de dévouement
Croix de 1re et de 2e classe     
Médaille de 1re, 2e et 3e classe         
C Décorations civiques pour ancienneté de services administratifs
Croix de 1re et 2e classe     
Médailles de 1re, 2e et 3e classe         
Croix de 1re et 2e classe pour service d'incendie     
Médaille de 1re et 2e classe pour service d'incendie         
D Décorations du travail
1re et 2e classe (La guirlande de lauriers entourant le bijou est émaillée de bleu, sauf pour les travailleurs agricoles, cultivateurs, éleveurs, horticulteurs, aviculteurs, etc pour qui l'émail est vert)     
E Décorations spéciales
Mutualité, 1re et 2e classe     
Coopération, 1re et 2e classe     
Prévoyance, 1re et 2e classe     
Union professionnelle, 1re et 2e classe     
Agricole, 1re et 2e classe     
F Insigne d'honneur de lauréat du Travail
1re, 2e et 3e classe Pas de photo disponible

Tab. III : principales décorations civiles belges.

Cas particuliers

  • Les anciens combattants et les vétérans, titulaires à la fois de distinctions militaires et civiles, donneront la priorité à leurs décorations militaires tout en mettant d'abord en évidence celles pour actes de courage ou de dévouement, celles pour la Seconde Guerre mondiale et la guerre de Corée, celles pour ancienneté et enfin les autres décorations.
  • Les ordres officiels étrangers sont portés en ordre chronologique d'attribution après les ordres nationaux belges. Les autres décorations officielles étrangères sont portées en ordre chronologique d'attribution après les décorations officielles belges.

Tolérances et interdictions

  • Le port d'un ordre étranger doit avoir été autorisé par le Roi. Les ordres étrangers sont portés après les belges suivant leur date d'attribution.
  • Aucun militaire en service ne peut porter une distinction honorifique étrangère sans autorisation royale.
  • Les décorations belges qui n'ont pas été créées par une loi ou par un arrêté royal ne sont pas reconnues officiellement, même si elles ont été instaurées par un autre niveau de pouvoir officiel (région, province, ville, commune…), par une institution reconnue (Croix-Rouge, service d'incendie…) ou par une association patriotique, philanthropique ou autre. Leur port après toutes les autres distinctions est toutefois toléré, sauf pour les militaires en service actif, à condition de ne pas permettre la confusion avec les distinctions officielles. Les titulaires de décorations non officielles se limiteront à les arborer lors d'événements en rapport direct avec l'institution qui les a distingués.
  • Les distinctions honorifiques d'organismes internationaux auxquels l'Etat belge adhère (OTAN, ONU, Union européenne, OSCE…) sont assimilées à des distinctions belges mais sont portées après celles-ci.

Les illustrations ci-dessus proviennent principalement du règlement sur les tenues militaires (DGHR-REG-DISPSYS-001) du 20 février 2006 et de la documentation du SPF Affaires étrangères. Nous remercions également la firme TOULET – VAN BAEL qui nous a autorisé à reproduire certaines photos placées sur son site Internet et le Lieutenant-Colonel BEM Eric TRIPNAUX pour ses conseils techniques.

Retour