Members only:
 
 

The history of the decorations which have existed in all times and all over the world could be summarized in four great titles:

The awards

They appeared as soon as people started living in community. A hierarchically structured organisation ruled by power soon developed. It was considered as quite normal that, in proportion to their merits, this elite was provided with marks of their higher rank: teeth of wild animals, feathers of rare birds, body painting and tattooing … In more developed cultures the rewards were mainly given to military people, who received metal chains, honorary weapons or a more or less important part of the haul.

The insignia and medals

In Athens the rewards consisted of promotions, proclamations, crowns and monuments.

With the Romans, who boasted a severe discipline in the army, the brilliant performances were stately rewarded by means of medals, mostly crowns of all kinds. The acclamation and especially the triumph were the greatest rewards that could be granted and they were strictly reserved to victorious generals. Depending on the case, they were accompanied by a laurel wreath, an ovation wreath or a triumph wreath. Other rewards as well were granted: a spear without metal peak; silver and gold bracelets, necklaces or armour decorations for cavalrymen.

In the Middle Ages one forgot the tradition of civil rewards; yet the predilection for decorations was a fact and this engendered the creation of knightly and military orders.

The Orders

Religious and military orders

Those find their origins at the time of the Crusades. One wore a cross on the breast and moved to liberate the tomb of Christ in Jerusalem. The Crusaders who were member of these Orders could be distinguished from one another by the way they decorated their cross; that cross became red, yellow, green, white or black, according to their nationality.

The Knighthood Orders

They were created in those times and under the rule of a Grand Master and several Commanders, they had the Crusades continued and the knights had no specific nationality and so no national interest that could threaten the interest of the Pope. So we had the
Knights of the Holy Sepulchre, the Knights Hospitaller of Saint John of Jerusalem, of Saint Lazarus, the Knights Templar etc… The Order of the Knights Hospitaller of Saint John of Jerusalem changed in the 14th century into the Order of Saint John of Rhodes and in the 16th century into the Order of Malta.

At first, the Knights were mostly warriors of noble descent and also soldiers of more humble origin but from honourable and irreproachable families, with a firm religious faith, who had been ennobled because of brilliant performances.

Gradually the Grand Masters of all religious and military Orders were gathered around the crown and so they became National Orders turned by the sovereign into a political power, necessary to the state affairs. So In France we had the Orders of the Holy Spirit, of Saint Michael and of Saint Lazarus, in England the Order of the Garter, in Sweden that of the Seraphins, in Denmark that of the Elephant…

A prestigious Order of Knights will be closely linked to our provinces as it was founded in Bruges by Philip the Good, Duke of Burgundy, lord of Flanders, Artois, Brabant and Limburg, on 12 January 1430. This is the Order of the Golden Fleece which is granted to 24 knights who promise their leader and sovereign, their faithful and loyal services, both in war time and in dangerous times.

The Orders of Merit

Whereas the Orders of Knights were created by ruling monarchs in favour of the noble knights, the Orders of Merit were created by the nations in favour of each citizen who had been deserving for his country and had an irreproachable past.

Usually the members of an Order of Merit were classified in grades, the holders of which were distinct from one another by the different insignia and they got the title of Knight, Officer, Commander, Grand Officer, Grand Cross or Grand Ribbon holder.

The transition to a higher grade was not possible without having obtained all inferior grades. Some of these Orders boasted an inferior class with medals, palms etc… And very often the Orders of Merit involved a pension for the holders.

There is a great number of these Orders, among which the most famous are : l’Ordre de la Légion d’Honneur (The Legion of Honour) in France, the Order of the Iron Cross and the Order of Merit in Germany, the Victoria Order and the Distinguished Service Order in Great-Britain, the Order of the White Lion in Austria, the Order of Isabella the Catholic in Spain, the Crown Order in Italy, the Order of Oranje-Nassau in The Netherlands and many more…

Belgium has five Orders of Merit

  • The Order of Leopold, civil and military (1832) and maritime (1934) categories: five grades per category.



  • The Order of the African Star, of the Independent State of Congo 1888-1908), of Belgian Congo (1908-1960): six grades.



  • The Royal Order of the Lion, of the Independent State of Congo (1891-1908), of Belgian Congo (1908-1910), of Belgium (1910): seven grades.



  • The Crown Order, of the Independent State of Congo (1897-1908), of Belgian Congo (1908-1910), of Belgium (1910):
    seven grades.



  • The Order of Leopold II, of the Independent State of Congo (1900-1908), of Belgian Congo (1908-1910), of Belgium (1910):
    six grades.

The decorations

They exist since the 16th century and are in common use since the 19th century.

At first the military decorations and later the civil decorations get more numerous under the influence of principles hostile to the feudal character of the Orders.

André Charles BornéThe decoration usually consists of a badge which can be a star, a cross, a rosette, a ribbon, a plate, a string, a cap…

As to the decorations, one should make a distinction between: the official decorations, object of a law, a Royal decree or an Institutional decree; the semi official decorations which have a particular character as a kind of recognition of the rules or the statutes; the non official, private and fantasy decorations created by the boards of associations, federations, leagues, fraternities…

More details can be found in the book Distinctions honorifiques de la Belgique 1830-1985 by André Charles BORNE.

Top

Réservé aux membres :
 
 

L'histoire des distinctions honorifiques qui ont existé dans tous les temps et dans toutes les contrées du globe pourrait être résumée en quatre grands titres :

Les récompenses

Elles apparaissent dès que les hommes vivent en communauté. Rapidement, une organisation hiérarchisée où la loi du plus « fort » règne en maître se développe. On y trouve normal d'accorder à cette élite des signes marquants de son élévation, proportionnels aux mérites : dents de fauves, plumes d'oiseaux rares, peintures corporelles, tatouages spéciaux… Dans des civilisations plus évoluées, les récompenses iront principalement aux militaires qui recevront des chaînettes de métal, des armes d'honneur ou une portion plus ou moins grande du butin.

Les insignes et les marques d'honneur

A Athènes, les récompenses consistaient en promotions, proclamations, couronnes et monuments.

Chez les Romains, où une discipline sévère régnait au sein des armées, les actions d'éclats étaient récompensées avec solennité et consistaient en insignes honorifiques, principalement en couronnes (castrales, civiques, murales, navales…).

L'ovation et surtout le triomphe étaient les plus grandes récompenses que l'on pût décerner et elles étaient réservées aux généraux victorieux. Elles étaient accompagnées, selon le cas, de la couronne d'olivier, de la couronne d'ovation ou de la couronne triomphale.

D'autres récompenses seront également utilisées : haste sans fer (sorte de javelot), bracelets d'or et d'argent, collier, phalères (ornements de la cuirasse pour les cavaliers), …

Au Moyen Age, on oublie complètement la tradition des récompenses civiques ; mais le goût des distinctions n'en continue pas moins à subsister et ce goût donne lieu à l'institution des ordres chevaleresques ou militaires.

Les Ordres

Les Ordres religieux et militaires

Ils trouvent leurs origines à l'époque des croisades. On plaçait une croix sur la poitrine et l'on marchait à la délivrance du tombeau du Christ à Jérusalem. Les croisés qui faisaient partie de ces Ordres ne se distinguaient que par la manière dont ils se décoraient de leur croix qui deviendra rouge, jaune, verte, blanche ou noire selon la nationalité.

Les Ordres de Chevalerie

Institués à cette époque et placés sous l'autorité d'un Grand Maître et de Commandeurs, ils perpétuent la croisade. Les chevaliers n'ont pas de patrie particulière dont les intérêts nationaux puissent balancer leur attachement aux intérêts du Pape. Tels sont les Chevaliers du Saint-Sépulcre, les Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem, de Saint-Lazare, les Templiers, etc… L'Ordre des Hospitaliers de Saint-Jean de Jérusalem deviendra au XIVe siècle l'Ordre de Saint-Jean de Rhodes pour s'intituler définitivement au XVIe siècle, l'Ordre de Malte.

A la base, les Chevaliers étaient généralement des guerriers nobles, ainsi que des servants d'armes d'origine plus modeste mais de familles honorables et sans reproches, ayant une foi reconnue en la religion et qui par des actions d'éclat pouvaient être anoblis et armés Chevaliers.

Progressivement, les grandes maîtrises de tous les Ordres religieux et militaires seront réunis à la couronne, pour devenir des Ordres nationaux dont le souverain fera une puissance politique nécessaire aux affaires de l'Etat. Ainsi, nous aurons en France les Ordres du Saint-Esprit, de Saint-Michel et de Saint-Lazare, en Angleterre l'Ordre de la Jarretière, en Suède celui des Séraphins, au Danemark celui de l'Eléphant, …

Un Ordre de Chevalerie prestigieux sera intimement lié à l'histoire de nos provinces puisqu'il sera créé à Bruges le 10 janvier 1430 par Philippe le Bon, Duc de Bourgogne, suzerain de Flandres, d'Artois, du Brabant et du Limbourg. Il s'agit de l'Ordre de la Toison d'Or qui sera attribué à 24 chevaliers s'engageant à donner au chef et au Souverain de l'Ordre, leurs services fidèles et loyaux, en guerre et dans les occasions dangereuses.

Les Ordres de Mérite

Alors que les Ordres de Chevalerie ont été institués par les souverains régnant en faveur des chevaliers nobles, les Ordres de Mérite l'ont été par les Etats en faveur de tout citoyen ayant mérité de sa Patrie et dont le passé s'avère irréprochable.

Généralement, les membres d'un Ordre de Mérite seront répartis par grades dont les titulaires se distinguent entre eux par des insignes différents et sont revêtus des titres de chevaliers, officiers, commandeurs, grands officiers, grands croix ou grands cordons. Le passage au grade supérieur ne peut se faire sans avoir atteint tous les autres. Certains de ces ordres possèdent une classe inférieure comportant des médailles, des palmes, etc. Et, dans de nombreux cas, les Ordres de Mérite étaient accompagnés d'une pension pour les titulaires.

Il existe un grand nombre de ces Ordres dont les plus connus sont : l'Ordre de la Légion d'Honneur en France, l'Ordre de la Croix de Fer et l'Ordre du Mérite en Allemagne, l'Ordre de Victoria et l'Ordre du Service Distingué en Grande Bretagne, l'Ordre du Lion Blanc d'Autriche, l'Ordre d'Isabelle la Catholique en Espagne, l'Ordre de la Couronne en Italie, l'Ordre d'Orange-Nassau des Pays-Bas et, bien d'autres encore…

La Belgique possède cinq Ordres de Mérite

  • Ordre de Léopold, au titre civil et militaire (1832) et titre maritime (1934) : cinq classes par titre.



  • Ordre de l'Etoile Africaine, de l'Etat Indépendant du Congo (1888-1908), du Congo Belge (1908-1960) : six classes.



  • Ordre Royal du Lion, de l'Etat Indépendant du Congo (1891-1908), du Congo Belge (1908-1910), de Belgique (1910) : sept classes.



  • Ordre de la Couronne, de l'Etat Indépendant du Congo (1897-1908), du Congo Belge (1908-1910), de Belgique (1910) : sept classes.



  • Ordre de Léopold II, de l'Etat Indépendant du Congo (1900-1908), du Congo Belge (1908-1910), de Belgique (1910) : six classes.

Les décorations

Elles apparaissent dès le XVIe siècle, pour se généraliser au XIXe siècle. Les décorations militaires d'abord et puis les civiles se multiplient sous l'influence de principes hostiles au caractère féodal des Ordres.

La décoration est généralement constituée d'un insigne qui pourra être une étoile, une croix, une rosette, un ruban, une plaque, un cordon, une barrette, …

André Charles BornéAu titre des décorations il faut distinguer les décorations officielles qui font l'objet d'une loi, d'un arrêté ou d'un décret d'institution ; les décorations semi-officielles qui ont un caractère particulier d'institution sous le couvert d'une reconnaissance de la réglementation ou des statuts ; les décorations non-officielles, privées ou de fantaisie qui sont créées par des comités d'associations, de sociétés, de fédérations, de ligues, de fraternelles, d'amicales, …

De plus amples détails peuvent être trouvés dans le livre Distinctions honorifiques de la Belgique - 1830-1985 par André Charles BORNE.

 

Retour