Members only:
 
 

Creation

Comte Félix de MérodeOn 8 June 1832 Count Felix de Mérode, Minister of State, proposes the creation of a national order, called “Ordre de l’Union”. After investigation by a commission it is decided to choose the name of “Order of Leopold” with the device “L’Union fait la Force” / ”Eendracht maakt Macht” (United we stand, divided we fall), a free translation of the device of the 1789 Brabantine Revolution “In Unione Salus”.

The proposal is accepted by the Chamber of Representatives on 6 July, despite the opposition of certain representatives who wanted the creation of an exclusively military order of which article 76 of the Constitution reserved the privilege to the King. The Senate approved the proposal on 9 July and the law was proclaimed on 11 July.

Originally the Order consists of two categories, a civil and a military, and four grades : Knights, Officers, Commanders and Grand Ribbon holders. In 1838 a Royal decree creates a fifth grade, that of Grand Officer. That very same year another Royal Decree (8 November) consigns the management of the Order to the Department of Foreign Affairs.

Description

The decoration of the Order consists of a white enamel cross with a laurel and oak wreath between each of the four arms. The central part consist of an enamel shield surrounded by a red circle and two small gold circles, with on the front the coat of arms of the kingdom and its device in gold letters to the fore, and at the back the figure Leopold I consisting of two L and two R. On top of the whole we have a royal crown.

aversrevers

The decorations granted to military have two crossed swords supporting the crown in the jewel. From 16 February 1934 onwards, the maritime category has two crossed anchors supporting the crown.

  1832 1838 1934
  Mil Civ Mil Civ Mil Civ Mar
Grand Ribbon X X X X X X X
Grand Officer     X X X X X
Commander X X X X X X X
Officer X X X X X X X
Knight X X X X X X X

The colour chosen for the ribbon is that of the Golden Fleece : moiré poppy colour (this colour is also used by the French Order of La Légion d’Honneur). It was a well-considerate choice as pointed out by the reporter of the central commission of the Chamber of Representatives :
“Belgium also received its Order, the most illustrious of all : the Golden Fleece is national property and has always been considered as inherent to the crown of Belgium…”.

First assignation

The first knight in the Order of Leopold is a soldier. The French sapper Ausseil, wounded during the siege of Antwerp, received this honour on 9 December 1932. That day King Leopold I inspected the front lines and met a stretcher carrying this soldier whose leg had been ripped off by a canon ball.

The King told him : “you are badly wounded, my friend” and Ausseil, who did not know his interlocutor answered : “yes general, but it is my watch, for my country and amidst my comrades” and he shouted “Long live France!”.

The King, who knew what real courage was, immediately made him the very first knight of the newly created Order. When he was taken care off at the Antwerp hospital, the sapper was visited by the Queen, who gave him a gold coin (Louis d’or). After he had recovered, he was also decorated with the Légion d’Honneur.

This episode was immortalized by a painting of Carpentier which hung in the Brussels Royal Palace for many years. In 1862 the King decided to give it to Ausseil. This present was also accompanied by a gold medal with his portrait and an annuity of 300 francs from his private funds.

Ausseil

Other military assignation

The first Belgian military to be decorated as knight of the Order of Leopold was Engineer Captain H. Hallart. He was decorated by the King on 7 January 1833.

On 30 January and on 5 February ten more Belgian officers were made knight.

On 10 March 1833 no less than 304 French and 3 Belgian military were rewarded because of their conduct at the siege of Antwerp. Among them 90 corporals and soldiers and .. several marshals and future French marshals !

The majority of the Belgian servicemen, who had distinguished themselves in the campaigns of 1831 and 1832, had to wait the important nominations of 15 December 1833 before they received a decoration in the Order. No less than 450 crosses were assigned to the army, among those 150 to soldiers and petty officers. The Civil Militia received some fifty crosses.

The first civilian assignations

The first two fellow-citizens who obtained the decoration, as civilians, were N. Rouppe, mayor of Brussels and Count G. Legrelle, mayor of Antwerp. They were respectively decorated on 1 and 3 January 1833.

Afterwards, a decoration of the Order was gradually granted to all important persons of the Chamber of Representatives, the Senate, the important State Bodies, the Administration, business, industry and Fine arts.

The First World War

PalmeThe great commotion of 1914-1918 incited many of our soldiers to fight with a lot of courage and self-denial. In order to reward these heroic deeds of the most courageous among them, King Albert I granted the cross of the Order of Leopold with palms to 268 petty officers, corporals and soldiers. The palm with the King’s figure (Traduction ?) was put on the ribbon of the decoration (Royal decree of 15 November 1915).

LiseréThe citizens who had distinguished themselves particularly by special or spectacular actions during the First World War also received special decorations, created by a Royal decree of 24 June 1919. Depending on the case, the ribbon of their decoration in the Order was decorated with a gold border or stripe and gold or silver star. (illustrations : ruban with liseré).

Top

Réservé aux membres :
 
 

Création

Comte Félix de MérodeLe 8 juin 1832, le Comte Félix de Mérode, Ministre d'Etat, propose la création d'un ordre national dénommé « Ordre de l'Union ». Pourtant, après l'examen en commission, il est décidé d'adopter la dénomination « Ordre de Léopold » avec comme devise « L'Union fait la Force », traduction libre de celle de la révolution brabançonne de 1789 « In Unione Salus ».

Le projet sera adopté à la Chambre le 6 juillet malgré l'opposition de certains députés qui voulaient la création d'un ordre uniquement militaire dont l'article 76 de la Constitution réservait le privilège au Roi. Le Sénat adoptera le projet le 9 juillet et dès le 11, la loi sera promulguée.

A l'origine, l'Ordre comporte deux catégories, civiles et militaires, et quatre classes : chevaliers, officiers, commandeurs et grands cordons. En 1838, un arrêté royal crée une cinquième classe, celles des grands officiers. C'est également cette année qu'un autre AR (8 novembre) confie l'administration de l'Ordre au département des Affaires Etrangères.

Description

La décoration de l'Ordre consiste en une croix blanche émaillée portant une guirlande de laurier et de chêne entre chacune des quatre branches. Le centre est constitué d'un écusson émaillé entouré d'un cercle rouge entre deux petits cercles d'or, avec à l'avers, les armes du royaume et la devise en lettres d'or en exergue et au revers, le chiffre du Roi Léopold Ier, composé de deux L et de deux R. Le tout est surmonté d'une couronne royale.

aversrevers

Les décorations décernées à titre militaire portent deux glaives croisés en support de la couronne dans le bijou. A partir du 16 février 1934, celles qui seront décernées à titre maritime, comporteront deux ancres croisées en support de la couronne.

  1832 1838 1934
  Mil Civ Mil Civ Mil Civ Mar
Grand Cordon X X X X X X X
Grand Officier     X X X X X
Commandeur X X X X X X X
Officier X X X X X X X
Chevalier X X X X X X X

La couleur choisie pour le ruban était celle de la Toison d'Or : le rouge ponceau moiré (couleur également utilisée par l'Ordre français de la Légion d'Honneur). C'était un choix délibéré comme en témoigne le rapporteur de la commission centrale de la Chambre : « La Belgique a aussi eu son Ordre, le plus illustre de tous ; la Toison d'Or est la propriété nationale, il a toujours été considéré comme inhérent à la couronne de Belgique… ».

Première attribution

Le premier chevalier de l'Ordre de Léopold est un militaire. Le sapeur français Ausseil, blessé alors qu'il participe au siège d'Anvers, aura cet honneur le 9 décembre 1832. Ce jour là, Léopold Ier qui parcourt les premières lignes rencontre une civière sur laquelle gît le soldat, une jambe emportée par un boulet.

Le Roi lui dit : « vous êtes grièvement blessé mon ami » et Ausseil qui ne connaissait pas son interlocuteur répond : « oui, mon général, mais c'est à mon poste, pour ma patrie et au milieu de mes camarades » et il s'écrie d'une voix forte : « Vive la France ! ».

Le Roi qui s'y connaît en matière de courage le nomme, sur-le-champ, le tout premier chevalier du nouvel Ordre qui venait d'être créé. Soigné à l'hôpital d'Anvers, le sapeur reçoit la visite de la Reine qui lui remet un louis d'or. Guéri, il sera également décoré de la Légion d'Honneur.

Cet épisode à fait l'objet d'un tableau, réalisé par le peintre Carpentier, qui orna longtemps le Palais de Bruxelles. En 1862, le Roi décide de l'offrir à Ausseil. Il accompagnera ce cadeau d'une médaille d'or à son effigie et d'une pension de 300 francs sur sa cassette personnelle.

Ausseil

Autres nominations militaires

Le premier militaire belge a avoir été nommé chevalier de l'Ordre de Léopold est le capitaine du Génie H. Hallart. Il est décoré par le Roi le 07 janvier 1833.

Le 30 janvier et le 5 février, dix autres officiers belges seront nommés chevaliers. Et le 10 mars 1833, pas moins de 304 militaires français et 3 belges seront récompensés pour leur comportement durant le siège d'Anvers. Parmi eux figuraient nonante caporaux et soldats et… plusieurs maréchaux et futurs maréchaux de France !

La majorité des militaires belges qui s'étaient distingués dans les campagnes de 1831 et 1832 doivent attendre les importantes nominations du 15 décembre 1833 pour recevoir une décoration dans l'Ordre. Quelques 450 croix seront ainsi attribuées à l'armée dont 150 à de simples soldats ou gradés subalternes. La garde civique se verra attribuer une cinquantaine de croix.

Premières nominations civiles

Les deux premiers de nos concitoyens à être nommés, à titre civil, seront N. Rouppe, bourgmestre de Bruxelles, et le comte G. Legrelle, bourgmestre d'Anvers. Ils le seront respectivement les 1er et 3 janvier 1833.

Plus tard et progressivement, toutes les figures importantes de la Chambre et du Sénat, des grands Corps de l'Etat et de l'administration, du commerce, de l'industrie, des beaux-arts, etc. se verront honorés par une décoration dans l'Ordre.

La grande guerre

PalmeLa grande tourmente de 1914-1918 voit nombre de nos soldats combattre avec courage et abnégation. Pour récompenser les actions d'éclat des plus braves d'entre eux, le Roi Albert Ier décerne à 268 sous-officiers, caporaux et soldats la croix de chevalier de l'Ordre de Léopold avec palme. La palme portant le chiffre du Roi était posée sur le ruban de la décoration (AR du 15 novembre 1915).

LiseréLes civils qui se sont particulière- ment distingués par des services spéciaux ou éclatants pendant le premier conflit mondial feront aussi l'objet de distinctions spéciales prévues par un AR du 24 juin 1919. Suivant le cas, le ruban de leur décoration dans l'Ordre de Léopold s'ornera de liserés ou d'une rayure d'or, d'une étoile d'or ou d'argent.

 

Retour